What is Consciousness?

I feel, I know. I think, I know. I do, I know. I see, I know. I hear, I know. I taste, I know. I be, I know. I know…..

Being is the most important. For without being, there would be no knowing. Yet, being can disappear, thus all forms of knowing seem to vanish. Does that mean that knowing ends?

What if knowing was being? Is knowing known when knowing seems to end in the absence of being? If the overshadowing concept was termed consciousness, would there be consciousness in knowing and in the absence of knowing? Could consciousness still be in being and the absence of being? If so, how would consciousness be defined?

Consciousness is being and the absence of being, yet consciousness is always been. So, being is consciousness. They are synonymous. Yet, they both can seemingly be absent as well. Seems like an oxymoron. That depends upon the perspective of the observer.

Knowing consciousness is knowing being. The levels of knowing are like a stairstep. Are you looking up or are you looking down from your stairstep? What is your knowing of being upon the step you stand? Is there a step above you? Is there steps below you? If what you know on your step is where you reside in being, then your own consciousness is known, as your senses detect.

Is knowing a sense? Is tasting a sense? If I take away taste, I’ve lost the ability to taste. So, tasting is an abilty, an ability to sense. Sense what? Taste. If I take away knowing, I’ve lost the ability to know. So, knowing is an ability, an ability to sense. Sense what? Know. Taste what, know what, see what, feel what, hear what, think what, do what, be what. The abilities of what? Consciousness. Take away those abilities of consciousness, is it still consciousness? Or is it what? Rest possibily? A day of rest. Nothing. Taste, know, see, feel, hear, think, do, be nothing. Is that possible? Death seems to say so.

When would a state of nothing be possible? If someone dies, when does that happen? When someone is conceived, when were they nothing? At what point is conception or death measured? A date and time? What would that overshadowing meaurement be called? Now, possibly? In what now did those things occur? Is there a who, what, where, when, how, or why involved with now? What about a now with nothing? Would that be possible? Birth and death seem to say so. But what about in between birth and death? Is there a consciousness of nothing? What about before birth or after death, is consciousness nothing? Can someone after birth and before death be conscious of nothing? Is that possible in any now moment? If nothing is known within consciousness, does consciousness become nothing after death, and is consciousness nothing before conception within a mother’s womb?

If consciousness resides within a body that is capable of knowing nothing, does that mean that conscious can only know nothing without a body? Yet every person prior to death of the body knows something. What they are conscious of came from something. So, knowing is something and nothing. Knowing is an ability of consciousness.

Knowing consciousness is being consciously aware of consciousness.