A Midsummer Nightmare

As I lay in the tub, submerged below ear level, the words repeat in my head. “Don’t do anything.” Where am I and why is this happening? I am here, but I am not here. “You are elsewhere. Don’t do anything.” How long can I lie in this tub? This is ridiculous, I have to do something.

I get out of the tub and slowly dry myself off. My mind is spinning due to the occurrences of the past few hours. What should I do? I walk out into the darkened living room with nothing on. I see my girlfriend Rachael watching TV. I approach her, naked, walk past the couch, pause, then walk back down the hallway. I turn and look. Did she not see me? She didn’t say anything, didn’t move. She still isn’t. “It is not her.” What?! I rush back to the bedroom.

As I pace somewhat in the bedroom, I calmly try to reassure myself. Ok, this cannot be. This is crazy. Rachael is just sitting there. “Look again.” I slowly peek around the corner and see Rachael just sitting on the couch, eyes glued to the television. Why didn’t she see me? “It’s not her.” What do you mean it is not her? “It’s just a body.” Just a body? “Yes, like a placeholder. An automaton.” What?! “Get dressed. You should leave.”

Ok. I should probably leave. Where do I go? If Rachael is not Rachael, who can I trust? My thoughts move to my old friend Tammy. I remember where she moved to. It is not a far walk. “Yes. Let’s go for a walk. There’s some things I need to show you. You are in a sandbox dimension currently. Some explaining is in order. It is best to move about in order to explain.” Ok.

I get dressed and open the front door. I look down the hallway and Rachael is just sitting there. No reaction to the door opening or the sight of me out of the corner of her eye. She remains unflinched. “Remember, it’s just a body. It’s not her. Close the door. This is not your home. Best to leave.” I close the front door behind me. As I stand at my front stairway and look out into the night, I realize the world is entirely alive with sound, sights, and movement all around. “Let’s go. Walk.” I walk down my front concrete stair and start moving down the sidewalk. Wow! The night is alive! I think to myself what a relief it is to get out of that house. It feels good to move.

“Allow me to explain some things to you as you walk. Just relax and enjoy the scenery. Look around you. Everything you are seeing is real. However, this is not the Earth you know. This is a copy, so to speak. You are in a sandbox environment of your Earth. Everything is exact, except for one thing. You are the only one in it, at least as you remember. Just keep walking.”

By this time, I’m a few blocks away from my house and a car drives by. I wonder, what about that car and its driver? “Same thing. An automaton. It is virtual.” My mind is everywhere at this point. How can a car be driving with a driver in it and not be real? Then, I get flashes of memories of Grand Theft Auto. Seriously? “Yes. Seriously.” So, this is a virtual world? “More like a super advanced dimensional array. I don’t like to use the word hologram because it is somewhat primitive.” “You don’t remember do you?” Remember what? “All of this.” Am I supposed to? “Well, no, but we find it a bit humorous.” Ok, well, I’m not finding it very humorous at the moment. It’s pretty amazing but I’m freaking out a bit over it all. “We know. It is still kinda funny to us.”

I keep walking. I find myself a bit distressed, but it still feels good to be moving. Everything around me seems so alive, it really feels good to be outside. “Can you hear everything ok?” Yes. I hear everything really well in fact. “That’s because we have your bodily parameters set to a different sensing schematic.” Huh? “We have turned everything up.” “Stop for a minute. Listen.” As I listen, I realize I am hearing everything near and far. I turn in the direction of the source of every sound. I zero in on one and my sight immediately fixes to that location. Oh my God! Am I feeling the sound as well? “Yes. Within a sandbox environment, the parameters of the entire plane can be adjusted however. This also includes the parameters of the body of any within that environment.” Wow! “Let’s keep walking.” Ok!

As I continue walking, the sound of all around me literally becomes as if I can reach out and touch it. Not only is it hearing, but it is also feeling and seeing. As I hear something behind me and to the right, I can feel where it is and get a sense of seeing what it is. My mind goes like a flash to that location. I feel the sensory waves pulsing through me as information from all around me. What an exhilarating feeling! I have never experienced anything like this before! “Yes you have.” I have? “Yes. Which is why we are all kinda chuckling over all of this. It is kind of funny to see you in this situation.” Why is it funny? “Well, knowing who you are. You could say the tables are turned currently.” Huh? “Never mind about that right now. Let’s just keep walking.” Ok.

As I’m walking through this beautiful evening feeling and sensing all around me, it dawns on me I have totally forgotten my distress of the day. “Stop.” Ok. “Now, I want you to look out into that thicket of trees over there. What do you see?” Is that a bird in the tree, sitting? “Yes.” Wait a minute! It is dark. The bird is glowing. “It’s not glowing. You are seeing its light.” Huh? How is that possible? “Once again. We have everything turned up. That includes your sight.” What? “Yes. Your body is augmentable, on the fly, you could say. Your sight within an environment can be set, or programmed to function in a specific way. Currently, in this sandbox environment, we want you to experience what is possible, to a degree.”

As I look all around me, I realize I am seeing birds nesting in trees all over. I see bats flying around as well. This is absolutely amazing! “David.” Yes. “I want you to say hello to someone.” Ok. “Hi David! It is Tammy.” What?! Tammy?! How is this possible? “I’m actually in the control room with the others. How are you doing? I know this has to be hard for you. I’m here to help if I can.” Tammy, how are you there and how are you talking to me now? “Well, its kinda hard to explain from where you’re at, but I’ll do my best. Yeah….ummmm….we’re bodies in an environment, kinda like a video game. Except it is way more advanced than you can even imagine right now. Which is why all of this is happening to you right now. You could say it was kind of planned that you would have this experience so that you could explain it from the other side, so to speak. Is this making sense?” Kind of, I guess. “Don’t worry. Nothing bad is going to happen. You’re not going to be harmed in any way. It’s so good to talk to you. I’ve missed you. I hope you’re ok.” I’ve missed you too. I’m freaking a bit, could you explain some more to me? “Sure. Find a place to sit and we’ll talk more.”

The distress begins to return a bit. It is all a bit overwhelming. I keep walking until I find a small eatery closed with picnic tables out front. As I sit, I realize I’m a bit exhausted from all of this. “David. Are you there?” Yes I am here. “Oh my God, you aren’t going to believe this. I’m so excited to tell you about all of this.” Ok, I’m listening. “Ok, so, I’m in this control room and they have this screen, so to speak. And, what you do is just pick what you want to look like. You can choose hair color, eye color, body shape, skin color, I’m doing it right now! Oh…..boobs! How big, how perky, the whole thing David! Ok…..lets see…..a little bigger…..perfect! It’s quite amazing!” Ok. That sounds great, but I’m still freaking a bit. “Oh, ok. I tell you what, I’m gonna come into the environment with you. I can’t do it as a human, but just wait, lemme get setup here.” Really? “Yes. Give me a few minutes to get things setup and I’ll let you know when I get there.” Ok.

My mind somewhat reaches a burnout stage. I’m sitting on this picnic table, a few miles from home, thinking about Rachael. How is she not she? Why is this happening to me? Why am I communicating with multidimensional beings consciously? Why am I in this sandbox environment? What is going to happen that has not already happened? “Are you ready David?” Huh? Ready for what? “I’m coming.”

As I’m sitting at the picnic table, a leaf bug about two inches long lands in front of me. “I’m here! That’s me David. I’m the leaf bug!” Seriously? “Yes. This is a bit awkward for me. I’m not used to driving this.” Driving? “Yeah. That’s what we call it. Driving. When you drive a body.” That is just weird to me. “Well, what do you do with your body? Don’t you drive it?” Well, I guess, yeah. “Yeah. Ok. Watch me. I’m getting oriented driving this thing. I’m clumsy as hell. Watch my left front leg.”

As I sit there looking at this leaf bug, its left front leg starts to pick up and set down, over and over. “Can you see that David?” Yes! Wow! Are you doing that? “Yes. I’m laughing as I’m doing it because I haven’t done this in a while. But yeah I’m doing my best. Lemme try walking.” As I sit and watch, the leaf bug very slowly starts to move it’s legs in a clumsy walking pattern. “I’m not very good at this. They suggested a leaf bug because its easier.” They? “Yeah the others in the control room you already met. The other four.” Do I know them? “Yes you know them. Right now, they know you more than you know them obviously. But, they are friends of yours just like I am.” This is all really confusing to me. “I know it is, but just hang in there. There is no easier way to do this. Trust me, ok?” Ok, I do trust you. Thanks for being here. “My pleasure. I jumped at the opportunity! Ok, I’m gonna try to fly now. Ready?” Really? Ok.

Sitting there watching this leaf bug, it suddenly becomes airborne and shoots off across the table and onto the ground next to a small picket fence. “Oh shit! That was crazy! Ok. I think I’m done.” Are you ok? “Yes I’m fine. I totally suck at driving that leaf bug.” That was pretty amazing. “Yeah it was pretty fun. Hey, David. I have to go now.” Ok. “Listen, I’m really glad I got to be able to help you a bit. I know it’s not enough, but I just wanted to be a part of letting you know that everything is ok, alright? There is nothing to worry about. Everything will make sense later. Just do your best to listen to what is being explained to you. Try not to freak out too much. Ok?” Ok. Thanks Tammy. I’m really glad you showed up, however you did. I appreciate it alot. “No problem. Goodbye David.”

Silence returns. I kneel down looking for that leaf bug, but I cannot find it anywhere. I scan the fence line, getting on my hands and knees, but it is no where to be found. I get back up and sit again thinking about all that has transpired thus far. I’m exhausted. What do I do now? I sit listening to the world around me. I watch the few cars drive by in the night wondering how it is that I am here. If I am not here, where do I go? Will I go back? Go back maybe. The thought of Rachael being an automaton, it is such a strange knowing. Do I want to go back? I’m at a loss. I’m in a sandbox environment. Is it all too much for my mind to handle?