An Ode Amidst The Willow Rot

A day came for the chore be girl to walk the sudden plank of nature’s path. The calloused hands of youth did carry the wares of worry. For the market demands came with demands for those hands. Demands those hands brought from troubled stands.

Upon a brook lie some willow wood of hollows core, a darkness door. The weathered girl did sit upon that throne disdained. Her sigh replied prior a ribbit’s nigh, her legs did jump, her rump thumped. Out came a toad, Mr. Willow Wood, of fables tales behold.

“Oh! Mr. Willow Wood! I pardon thee! My wares be weary and me heart be heavy. Please, forgive me! I did not mean to disturb thee!”

Mr. Willow Wood replied…

“We do not mind of thee. I’m loney, see. I came to grant three questions be.”

Scarlet said….

“Three questions for me? The fable be true! I honor thee too. May my sitting place that is your home be blessed with some buttery bake.”

Mr. Willow returned…..

“Ask away child what burdens thy heart. May my ribbit less burden your heart broken stride.”

Scarlet began….

“Mr. Willow Wood, my words be true. I am a walking reminder of the failings in total of the past. The sight of me is too much you see. The words from me matter not you see. I am a failure to toss upon the crucifixion cross. My blood of self runs clear in water, forgotten’s desire brings comfort to the mire of parental wishings gone missing. A memory of me is the soul’s medicine. The sight of me, a nightmare begotten. What do I do with this heart of mine left torn inside?”

Mr. Willow did ribbit and replied in kind….

“What do you do with project scraps? You toss them in the pile with the other undesireables. You acknowledge their lack of value. You ignore them. You yell at them. Toss them around. Leave them behind. They are unimportant because eventually they just become forgotten.”

Scarlet replied…..

“Oh Mr. Willow Wood how can this be, my life be destined for all of this lessened, my stride forever in ride?”

Mr. Willow Wood did ribbit and said……

“Until one meets them again amidst eternity. In the mean time, everyone wants to portray the ornate dresser. Anything less is scrap to be tossed in a pile, to be a toad unknown amidst the willow wood.”

The girl’s head sunk low without a word. Gloom came over her, the news did throw her. She sat in silent mourn.

Mr. Willow Wood did ribbit and raised his head…..

“You have one more question to ask before you leave for task. What will it be, this question for me?”

Scarlet looked down at Mr. Willow Wood in momentary pause, then said….

“What can I do for thee, Mr. Willow Wood of fables tale, a toad who lives in a dead tree?”

Mr. Willow Wood did ribbit and replied with a smile…..

“One kiss from thee will set me free.”